I ask you does it matter?

English: Burning Red Candle Deutsch: Brennende...

Image via Wikipedia

I ask you does it matter

That I lit a candle bright

Even if the flame lights only

A corner of the night?

I ask you what if someone

With no will to shine

Takes strength from my

Single flame…such a feeble sight,

Doesn’t that mean that

My tiny being…solitary

In  power…. theoretically

Gives over and over again…

While the next flame gives

Away what it has gained

And on and on it catches

Multitudes of flame?

Logically the dim corner

Should become a room

Chandelier lit,  just for fun at noon,

But at night the bright shine sings…

Out of the windows

Catching a still life of dusty rose

Does it matter that such insignificance

Dared to shine at all?  ….I think so.

17 thoughts on “I ask you does it matter?

  1. You’d better believe it matters. Darkness cannot win when there is light. Good triumphs over evil. Your brightness and light and writing and constancy MATTER. I love what you wrote, and the photo.

  2. Thanks for your comment. Yes there is more to it than it seems. That is why I love poetry. So much can be said with a few words! And thanks for the stop by!

  3. I love the name of your blog…believe anyway…. because that is just what I did when starting this attempt to communicate. That is so kind of you, and I appreciate it very much. Thank you, Kate!

  4. Pingback: Thank you, Kate | Daily Sweet Peas

  5. Thank you so much Kate. I really appreciate that so much!! I will try to get to everything soon!!!!!!!! Congrats on your awards, and I left a reply on your site with a writing error. Good Grief!!!!!!!!!

  6. I read this a while back and liked it and keep coming back to read it. May I link up to it and put it on my Posts I love roll.

  7. Pingback: SOUL SPEAK « Words from my Soul

  8. Hi I saw the link of this beautiful poem in Maiya’s blog.
    Its so inspiring and lovely…
    one by one we reach out to every dark corner and soon there will be love every where
    loved it
    Have a wonderful weekend
    Hugs :)

  9. Thank you for your kind words. I am overwhelmed that someone would find the poem “inspiring and lovely”. Your comment is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

