The Cactus Hallway

 
The Grand Canyon is a steep-sided gorge carved...

Image via Wikipedia

 

       Someone said to me, and I didn’t mind at all,  what was I smoking to write such humor?  I know what I wrote was silly. I would call it giddy even. I assured my sweet blogging friend that I was not under the influence of any substance, and never had been in my life. I was not offended at all. It was actually nice to hear her comment, because hearing from her is always delightful.  But why, oh why,  was I so happy?

      This is the first time I have ever used social media. I took a peek at Facebook a little over a year ago.  It held no allurement for me whatsoever, but I guess I need to one day. I have lived so isolated so long here in the boondocks of life. If I had belonged to a convent, I would have not experienced as much isolation.  Death, illness, and the other guts and bolts of my life that would be completely boring to you if explained would cause perhaps any reader to say, “Oh I get that, no problem. No wonder you were isolated.”   But this blog is not about life’s abdominal surgery that it likes to perform now and then, thank goodness!  The surgical details  of it all will remain in the operating room. I like the waiting room better don’t you? 

   
  

A flowering cactus at Tohono Chul Park in Tucs...

Image via Wikipedia

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
    One day I looked down that cactus hallway of my life, and said there is a keyboard at the end, and I am going to use it to drink that elixir of life called communication. Now this was a difficulty  for such an extraordinarily shy person, and would anyone possibly read whatever fell out of my soul? I didn’t know! It was extremely difficult to do. Just a smidgen like having a big toe on the edge and looking down at the Grand Canyon while the screams of demonic sounding no’s are behind you, and the choice is to jump and hope that fuzzy-wings sprout enough to prevent a splat. Luckily, they were angel wings. My journey was to focus on what was light, good, beautiful, and loving. I have been fortunate that the elixir was not poisonous. The medicinal value of writing proved itself true.
 
 
Bright Angel Point trail - Grand Canyon North Rim

Bright Angel Point trail - Grand Canyon North Rim (Photo credit: Al_HikesAZ)

 
 
 
 
 

    So, if I act giddy. Oh, it is because I am people. I have some freedom. When I say that I “love” what you have written, well I am not kidding. I need no superfluous adjectives to gain anything at all. When you read the word “beautiful”  that  my flexible  piano fingers have deliriously written in a heavenly frenzy, oh I mean it because I am happy to see what someone else has done beautifully whether it is art, music, photography,  or words.  You people are too talented out there you really should give some of that away?

     Don’t say, “so long”  to sweet peas yet!  I will be giddy from time to time. Maybe more often than not, but you will know that it isn’t because I am a blonde. It is because of my brain which is much blonder!  One of the definitions of elixir is, “a substance held capable of changing base metals into gold: Philosophers Stone”   Webster.  Wow, I love that. This morsel of being able to blog is golden.  Now you have a deeper explanation than my former reply,  my blogging friend, and I hope it made you smile!        Terri O.A.

Campylorhynchus brunneicapillus (Cactus Wren),...

Image via Wikipedia

18 thoughts on “The Cactus Hallway

  1. Terri – When you said, “One of the definitions of elixir is, “a substance held capable of changing base metals into gold…” it makes me think of inner alchemy. You are clearly changing “base metals” to “gold” from the inside out :)

    I am an anchor writer for SIBYL Magazine (www.sibylmagazine.com). I write about Inner Alchemy (transforming sorrow to joy, fear to courage, anger to forgiveness, and so forth). I hope you’ll check out this FREE online magazine – I think you’d love it :)

  2. You have such beauty to share with the world Terri and I thank you for sharing it. I have also found blogging helpful in ‘overcoming’ the obstacles of shyness and isolation, 2 things I know very well myself… Loved reading this, as I do most of your posts :)
    Hugs,
    Karen

  3. What a sweet comment! I enjoy looking at your beautiful art. I don’t think I would have the patience it takes to create like you do! Every woman in America ought to be wearing your art. That would be exhausting work…:) Shyness and isolation definitely have a way of being a prison, but the doors are open as I know you must have felt from all the response to your great blog. I like the new look. I have gained from being your follower. It inspires me to hear your story. Until next time!

  4. My Dear Sweet Pea of life,
    I knew there are lots of reasons why I like you!
    Your words in this post took me back to the mid 90’s. A trying time but one of great growth.
    Although the reasons for my isolation, which is much like as you put it so eloquently “best left in the operating room” I too feel like social media saved my emotional well being. I had been in a situation where I was living in one of the largest cities of the US yet because of health conditions out of my own hands. I saw saw only my husband on a daily basis, and a housekeeper once a week. Its not enough to sustain an intelligent mind. And the doctors appointment club being the only one I belonged to I too found the waiting rooms a fascinating place for people watching.
    .
    Like you I found a community that feeds my brain.my heart, my soul,needs in ways that is unfair to expect of my close family. My family who is my rock for so long had been my only life outside of those other days. Thankfully my husband wiser than I knew, knowing that my reluctance to have my own computer was one born out of fear and not something that should stop me from reaching out to others.
    I’m so grateful for that first big boxy desk top he brought me home. So ever grateful for people like you. So grateful for your sense of humor! And thankful for it to.

  5. What beautiful pictures. Do you know that I’ve lived in Arizona for almost 4 years and still haven’t been to the Grand Canyon?!? Wow, look at what I’m missing!
    Many blessings.

  6. I would never have guessed that you were a shy person, you have such a beautiful way with words and an easy confidence about your writing. I feel like I learn from you every time I read one of your posts. Thank you for that!

  7. Wow that is hard to believe. Share some pics if you want if you ever decide to go. It just looks incredible. I used to live 45 minutes from the beach and never went hardly go figure! Enjoyed your site also!

  8. Well, thanks and it was your description of inching down that passage (of course there was no trespassing) :) that triggered that hallway image inching around those cactus. Thank you!!

Thanks

