Treasures

  

 

    In every single institution in the world,  and anywhere that people hobble together there will be corruption. It is just the way of life, as we all know, and it isn’t going to change. There are generations that had less of the “me”,  and more of the “we.”   The WW II generation is one great example as they were motivated by a cause far above themselves.  Before and since 9/11 we have witnessed sacrifice; we have watched heroes.  But with all of the terrible things that we do see about life, on the news, there are several things that are not corrupted. Two of those treasures, I think, are forgiveness and love.

    As I watched the gray-haired mom crying over her son, Junior Seau, and sobbing with all of her being as she stated that she would have taken her son’s place if she had just known ahead of time that he was going to be gone; I thought about love. I cried.  How terrible to see such a private moment on national television, and all over the world. But it also brings back  a truer reality, this is the crux of life…love. Not who you know, or what you wear. Those things are good, but less important and they look like shadows when compared to love.  When it gets right down to the nitty-gritty of it all, without love none of what goes on in this crazy world makes sense.  There is no greater power to motivate the human heart to become unselfish than the emotion of love. What are we without its blessing?  Not much. What a frightening society we would be if we all lived with only ambition, or pride.

  You can forgive someone without loving them, but I don’t think you can love someone without experiencing the want to forgive.  I remember that saying, “Love means never having to say you’re sorry.”  Erich Segal.  That has never made sense to me, but it sounds good. Maybe he meant that once you know love then you will never be sorry that you have understood love.  I know that you wise people already know all of these things, but I just needed to write about treasures.  

                                           Who, being loved, is poor?   Oscar Wilde                     

13 thoughts on “Treasures

  1. Thanks Laurie! I was taking that with the dogs jumping on the porch swing trying to get in the shot! I am amazed that it wasn’t blurry!! Appreciate the stop by!

  2. Thank you for stopping by Elisa, and I know I will always find great photos at your site. I need to do some blog reading catch up by Monday or Tuesday or Wednesday…. :)

  3. I didn’t actually see television coverage of Junior’s mother, but I heard the audio on the radio…played at least once an hour! That alone broke my heart and I understood that she’d gladly change places to have her son live. It is such a tragedy. And I love that you brought the story into sharp focus with the reminder that fame and accomplishment is surely fragile, but love is what holds us together. Beautifully said, Terri. Debra

  4. I saw Juniors story as well and really tugged at my heartstrings. You honored them both very well. Is an exquisite post My Dear Frend, and the photo? Its to die for. Simply stunning. Nicely done Terri!

  5. Oh what a lovely thought you have shared Terri…..so true only love can heal and make the life scars dissapear…you post reminded me of a Dalai Lama quote i read some time back
    Love and compassion are necessities, not luxuries. Without them humanity cannot survive.
    Thanks for such a lovely thought provoking warm post :)

  6. Thanks so much Barefoot Baroness, I love typing that name…its great. Appreciate the comment, and I had to fight the dogs to get the photo. They wanted to be first! :)

Thanks

